Howdy

Two days ago I packed what remained of my belongings and hoped a train, then a bus, then another bus, then walked another 20 minutes to home or what will now be home.  I’m in Moss Beach, Ca working at Morning Star Ranch as a hired hand.  The deal: feed the horses around 6pm, check on them around 9pm, put the hens and roster to bed.  In exchange I will have a place to stay at no cost.  For about 25-25 hrs/wk I will be working down in Half Moon Bay, Ca at Half Moon Bay Feed & Fuel for a source of income, though meager, it will allow me to survive.  In addition, I will be taking care of random tasks on the ranch for a little extra scratch.

The ranch is owned and operated by a wonderful couple Nan & Jan who have been here for almost 20 years.  At the moment I’m quickly learning the names and types of horses, but still struggle to retain all this new information.  We have goats, donkeys, chickens, dogs, cats, and sheep in addition to the 20 or so horses on MSR, which sits atop a hill overlooking the town of Moss Beach and the nearby ocean.

So far I haven’t had much time or energy to put into other projects, but hope to soon.  Robin, owner of Half Moon Feed & Fuel, will be a invaluable resource as I begin to venture into prospects of raising chickens and goats.  I’m hesitant to begin because the duration of my stay is still very much undecided.

In the mean time I hope to learn as much as possible about ranching and farming in this area that is so well known for just that.  As projects begin and experiences multiply I will do my best to post frequently.

Leave a Reply

